

Harry S Truman Coordinating Council Board & Membership Meeting Minutes from 01/17/2023– 2:00 p.m. The Weston Place

114 S Wood St, Neosho, MO, 64850

HSTCC Executive Committee

Cyndy Hutchings, Debbie Cornell, Jamey Cope, Josh DeTar, Richard Leavens, Skyler Jones, David Osborn (7 members total, missing 4)

Officers:

Cyndy Hutchings, Chair – City of Seneca Jamey Cope – McDonald County David Osborn– Newton County

ATTENDEES:

Dennis Desmond – Leawood Jackson Hotaling – Missourians for Responsible Transportation Bree Pettengill – Golden City Kim Ader – MoDOT David Kennedy – Neosho Lane Osborn – HSTCC

Madelyn Wood – *HSTCC* Olivia Spencer – *HSTCC* Carrie Campbell – *HSTCC* Austin Butera – *HSTCC*

ATTENDED VIA ZOOM:

Aaron Smith – *CPA* Erin Engelmeyer – *Senator Hawley rep.*

Call to Order: Chair, Cyndy Hutchings called the meeting to order at 2:05 p.m.

Consent Agenda: Motion to approve the January 17th, 2023, agenda made by Jamey Cope. David Osborn seconded. All in favor, none opposed.

Minutes of the Previous Meeting: Motion to approve the June 14th, 2022's minutes made by Bree Pettengill. Dennis Desmond seconded. All in favor, none opposed.

Guest Speaker: Guest speaker David Osborn from the Newton County Commission spoke briefly about the history and importance of the Truman Council to kick off the board meeting.

Executive Director's Report: Executive Director Carrie Campbell presented the staff changes. She shared the grant opportunities that Truman Council assists with. She explained that we fight for our communities with MoDOT to prioritize the needs. We currently serve over 217,582 residents within 67

communities. She emphasized that Truman's priority to attend city council meetings to learn about the needs of our communities. In 2022, we received 6.3 million in grants that we were awarded. HSTCC is pending 36 million in grants applied for. We have completed the emergency water line for the City of Lanagan and the Duenweg Active Transportation plan.

CDBG Req'd Forms: Carrie informed us of the required CDBG required forms. Motion to approve the resolutions for the required forms made by Jamey Cope. David Osborn seconded. All in favor, none opposed

Add Exec Board Member: Motion to add Skyler Jones to the HSTCC Executive board made by Jamey Cope. Bree Pettengill seconded. All approved, none opposed.

Financial Reports: Fiscal Officer Carrie Campbell presented the financials on the audit and showed that there were no findings. Aaron J Smith provided us with a review of how he conducts the audit. HSTCC is still pursuing litigation against HSTCDC.

Online Banking, Adding Olivia Spencer: Motion to add Olivia Spencer to the online banking made by Bree Pettengill. Seconded by David Osborn. All approved, none opposed.

Staff Report, Transportation: Transportation Planner, Justin Pryor, presented us with information on TAC and its purpose. Justin explained the meeting in Springfield to get our MoDOT needs to a priority basis. We were able to three new areas to the needs list. Carrie and Justin shared the proposed changes in bylaws which include expanding the board by providing specialists in different areas to help build our communities in the transportation with allowing different entities (airport representatives, EDA, MoDOT, transit providers, representatives from the disabled communities, minority organizations, bicyclists, freight, and emergency service representatives), which is what many other RPCs have done to encourage participation in TAC.

TAC Bylaws Change: Bree made a motion to accept the changes to the TAC bylaws to allow different entities to be a part of TAC, as motioned above. David Osborn seconded the motion. All in favor, none opposed

Staff Report, Environmental: Environmental Planner, Austin Butera presented his completed projects and what he is currently working on, such as: Neosho Hazard Mitigation Plan, DNR 604(b) Grant, Water Quality Testing Lab, and Environmental Certifications. HSTCC has been awarded the Region M Recycling grant to help create a recycling program with Westview C6. Future project he will be working on is the Barton County Hazard Mitigation Plan.

Grant Opportunities: Carrie shared grant opportunities for Highway Safety Grants, Recreational Trails Program, Outdoor Recreation Legacy Partnership Program, USDA Rural Business Development Grant, and several small business grants. She noted to please reach out if you have any ideas for you community and we will help to look for and apply for grants that ae applicable.

Election of Executive Board Officers:

Motion to keep Cyndy Hutchings as Chair made by Bree Pettengill. Seconded by David Osborn. All in favor, none opposed.

Motion to elect Skyler Jones as the Vice Chair made by Cyndy Hutchings. Jamey Cope seconded. All in favor, none opposed.

Motion to elect David Osborn Treasurer made by Bree Pettengill. Seconded by Jamey Cope. All in favor, none opposed.

Legislative & Member Reports:

Erin Engelmeyer, *Senator Hawley Representative* – Erin shared Senator Hawley's participation in banning TikTok from federal devices along with securing federal funding for housing at Fort Leonard Wood.

David Osborn, *Newton County* – Roads, bridges, budgets, building repairs, windows for the courthouse

Dennis Desmond, *Leewood* – Comprehensive Plan, Census population went from 682 - 612, working on putting a program to trim trees around the village, spring and fall will provide dumpsters for their residence, 5 trustees and meet bimonthly

Jamey Cope, *McDonald County* – Preparing for spring floods, New help building by June (tentatively), Extension agency to old Health department building, courthouse renovations to add security to the courthouse (Judicial center), overlay roads,

David Kennedy, *Neosho* – Council meeting tonight accepting the final 3 agreements with property owners, Finalize the plans for Strafford and freeman drainage (MoDot approval), storm water grant (6.3 million – improvements for layette street area), Airport hangers will be built (bids), submitted the CDBG waste water (about 6.3 million) J active transportation planning, meeting monthly, more education for communities on active transportation grants, complete streets, Joplin just created a complete streets ordinance,

Kim Alder, *MoDOT* – unfunded needs list back in November, governor cost share (Carthage and Joplin were awarded)

Bree Pettengill, *Golden City* – Received TAP Grant for north side of Main Street, did not get the ARPA water structure grant, added new benches up and down main street

Next Meeting: April 4th at 11:30am in McDonald County.

Adjourn: Meeting adjourned by Cyndy Hutchings at 3:55 p.m. Jamey Motioned, David seconded.